When you create an auto or manual email, you'll see the option to include an unsubscribe link in the 'Select your channel' section. This is selected by default for you.

Can I unsubscribe a user from receiving emails?

You can also opt out a particular user from receiving bulk emails by including an extra option in the intercomSettings.

var intercomSettings = {  
   'app_id' : 'abc123',  
   'email' : 'john@example.com',  
   'created_at' : 1350467386,  
   'unsubscribed_from_emails' : true
}

It is also possible to unsubscribe/resubscribe users from receiving bulk emails. Just select the dropdown from the top right corner of their user profile and click 'Unsubscribe from email.' However if you provide a value for unsubscribed_from_emails in intercomSettings for a user, it will override any manual action by you here, or by the user clicking unsubscribe links in their emails.

Can I still contact unsubscribed users?

Yes. Users that are unsubscribed will still receive all in-app messages but will not receive any auto-message emails.

They'll also still receive email notifications of replies to in-app conversations.

In addition, they'll receive manual message emails that are sent only to them. 

Can I turn off Intercom's unsubscribe links?

Yes. You can disable unsubscribe links for your auto messages in your Message settings:

We will still enforce an unsubscribe link on manual messages with more than 100 recipients. If you have specific requirements, please get in touch with the team and we can discuss this further with you

Can a user unsubscribe from a particular campaign? 

If a user unsubscribes from a campaign email, they’re unsubscribing from all email messages, not just messages belonging to that campaign.

Important: You need to be careful when sending the unsubscribed_from_emails value in your user data object. Using both our intercomSettings JS snippet and the REST API value will overwrite the unsubscribed setting of your users. That means that if one of your users has unsubscribed from your emails you could potentially resubscribe them without their consent.

Did this answer your question?